# Templeton Area Advisory Group Thursday June 17, 2021

Meeting on Thursday June 17, 2021 was held by telecommunication / zoom video call

- **1.CALL TO ORDER -** Meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Bruce Jones.
- **2. ROLL CALL** Bruce Jones, Murray Powell, Erik Gorham, John Donovan, and Dede Davis who arrived to the meeting at 6:35.

#### 3. AGENCY REPORTS AND UPDATES

• 3.1. Sheriff's Office – Michael Manuele

There were 1942 calls for service in May, 2021, 365 of which were from Templeton. Those calls caused 262 reports for the County, down 7% from last year. They are gearing up for the July 4 holiday with extra staffing.

• 3.2. California Highway Patrol - Chandler Stewart

There were 109 crashes, 33 of which were in Templeton. DUIs were up over 2019 statistics, but down from 2020. There are extra officers coming soon because the Academy is opening soon with new cadets..

• 3.3. Supervisorial District One – Vicki Jansen

The June 22 Board of Supervisors meeting will be in-person as it was pre-COVID. No call-ins will be allowed. They will discuss cannabis issues. Last Tuesday's Board of Supervisor's meeting approved the budget for 2021-22. This included 3 million dollars for road improvements. After the June 22 meeting, there will be a two-week summer break. July 20 the Board of Supervisors meeting will be about redistricting.

- 3.4. Supervisorial District Five Not Present.
- 3.5. County Planning Department Cheryl Ku

There were no projects ready for discussion.

• **3.6. Templeton Community Services District** – Geoffrey English

TCSD had a meeting two nights ago on Tuesday. They combined the Recreation and Waste Management departments. They approved the 2021-22 budget. They have scheduled concerts in the Templeton Park which is owned by the County. Dealing with water from Lake Nacimiento will give us another 600 water units in a few years.

3.7. San Luis Obispo Council Of Governments—Daniel Audelo

SLOCOG is regional and includes the County and 7 incorporated municipalities' councils. They deal with transportation, land use, and social services. They encourage people to take their survey on their website.

Note: Because Dede Davis had personal issues tonight, she had to be late to the meeting. When she arrived, the Agenda was changed for voting purposes.

# 7.2 Scott Shirley approved to be First Alternate Delegate—approved unanimously

7.3. Christine Nelson approved to be Second Alternate Delegate—approved unanimously.

Murray reminded the Board that these two are now officially Board members and can vote tonight because Don Potts and Doris Diel are not present.

# 4. PUBLIC COMMENT - None.

## **5. CONSENT AGENDA**

- 5.1 Approval of Minutes from May 20, 2021 Approved Unanimously.
- **5.2 Approval of Treasurer's Report** Current balance is \$1540.49. No expenses for this month. Approved Unanimously.

# 6. OLD BUSINESS - None

## 7. NEW BUSINESS -

• 7.1. Adelaida Hydrology Study and other groundwater supply concerns: Erik Gorham and Greg Grewal and Geoffrey English

The Paso Robles basin is the largest one west of the Rockies. There are two applications seeking partial control of this aquifer via water banking. The consensus of the TAAG Board was that we do not support these two applications because we do not have enough information about this. The Water Committee will do a more detailed review and present its recommendations at the next TAAG meeting.

Geoffrey English reported on the Templeton-Atascadero Aquifer. This aquifer is separate from the Paso Robles Aquifer and is not impacted by the proposed water banking in the Paso Robles Aquifer.

- **7.4** Don Potts submitted a letter of resignation because he is moving out of the Templeton Unified School District boundaries for TAAG. The Board unanimously voted to accept that resignation.
- **7.5.** Scott Shirley was elevated to Board member status to fill the vacated seat from Don Potts' resignation. This was supported with a unanimous vote.
- **7.6.** Christine Nelson was elevated to fill Scott Shirley's First Alternate Delegate position. This was supported with a unanimous vote.
- **7.7**. Rose Patch and Denise Fitzgerald were unanimously approved to be Community Members on the Community Outreach and Public Relations Committee.
- **7.8.** The Board discussed the future format for TAAG Board meetings. The consensus was that we would continue with zoom meetings for now until arrangements can be made for doing hybrid meetings with in-person as well as electronic participation. TCSD has

purchased equipment to facilitate that type of meeting in their Boardroom, where TAAG had meetings pre-COVID.

**7.9. TAAG Committee Assignments**—New committee assignments to reflect new officers and community members was approved unanimously and is the addendum to this report. There is still a vacancy on the Cannabis Project Review Committee. Anyone interested should contact TAAG.

## 8. ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM COMMITTEES-

- 8.1 Project Review Committee -
- 8.2 Cannabis Project Review Committee -
- **8.3 Community Outreach and Relations Committee** Erik Gorham, Chair, will call a meeting soon
  - **8.4 Traffic Circulation Committee** This committee will determine who will be the Chair now that Don Potts is no longer available.
- 8.5 Bylaws Special Committee –
- **8.6 Water/Toad Creek Special Committee** There will be a meeting soon
- 8.7 Elections Committee -

## 9. ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM DELEGATES - None.

**8. ADJOURNMENT** - Meeting was adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Erik Gorham, Secretary

# ADDENDUM NEW COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS FOR TAAG

Project Review Committee (PRC)--Erik Gorham, Chair; Murray Powell, Dede Davis; Scott Shirley, First Alternate and Bruce Jones, Second Alternate

Cannabis Project Review Committee (CPRC)--Murray Powell, Chair; Doris Diel; **New volunteer needed to complete this committee**.

Community Outreach and Public Relations Committee--(COPRC)--Erik Gorham, Chair; John Donovan; Murray Powell; Christine Nelson, First Alternate Delegate; Rose Patch, Volunteer Community Member; and Denise Fitzgerald, Volunteer Community Member

Traffic Committee-Doris Diel; John Donovan; and Scott Shirley

Water Committee/Toad Creek (Water)--Erik Gorham, Chair; Doris Diel; Dede Davis

Bylaws Committee (Bylaws)--Murray Powell, Chair; Bruce Jones; Christine Nelson

Election Committee (Elections)--Dede Davis, Chair; John Donovan, Bruce Jones